Different Types of Football Bets

football bet

Betting on football games is a fun and competitive way to enjoy the game. There are several different types of bets, and it is important to understand the odds before placing a bet.

A common type of bet is the Over/Under bet, which is based on the predicted total score of the game. These bets are usually listed with the favored team’s name in all caps followed by a minus sign and a number.

Over/Under bets

An over/under bet is a wager on the total number of points, sets or goals scored during a game. Over/Under bets are available for a wide range of markets, including second-half and player props. These bets come with odds that are usually -110 or lower. If you bet the over, you are betting that both teams will score more than the total listed. If you bet the under, you are betting that both teams will score less than the total.

When it comes to over/under bets, there are a few situations that can cause your bet to be canceled. These include overtime and extra innings/periods. Over bettors love these events because they can count a flurry of late scoring toward their bet. However, they are a nightmare for under bettors because it can add an extra period of scoring to the game. Weather is also a big factor in over/under bets, as rain and snow can lead to fewer points being scored.

Moneyline bets

A moneyline bet removes the point spread and instead predicts which team will win. The favored team is listed with a minus and a number, which represents how many points they need to win by in order for a bet to pay off. The underdog is listed with a plus and a number, which represents how much money a bettor would win if they wagered $100 on them. A moneyline bet also includes a “juice” or commission that sportsbooks charge on each wager.

A moneyline is a good choice for games that are expected to be one-sided. For example, a top-ranked team playing an FCS program may be a large favorite on the moneyline. However, the moneyline odds might not reflect their actual probability of winning. This can lead to undervalued favorites. However, this is not always the case and you should be sure to research each game before making a moneyline bet. In addition, a moneyline bet only wins or loses; there is no tie.

Parlay bets

Parlays are a great way to increase your payouts while decreasing your risk. They are offered by most sportsbooks and allow you to combine three general-bet forms of wagers into one ticket: point spreads, Over/Unders, and moneyline bets. Parlays are typically paid out at odds that are higher than the original single game bet, but lower than the true payouts of those bets.

The key to a successful parlay is knowing how to read the odds. If a team is a prohibitive favorite, it’s likely that the Over will win. On the other hand, if a team is a heavy underdog, you’ll need to bet on the Under to make a profit. A good parlay should have at least two winning legs to be considered a winner. In addition, parlays force the winnings from each individual bet to roll over into the next leg of the parlay. This reduces the chance of a loss and makes it easier to make large payouts.

Future bets

Futures bets are different than regular wagers as they are not decided on a single game and can often have a long term payout. They are bets on a team or individual award, such as the Super Bowl winner, and are available before the season starts. These bets are also known as prop bets or proposition bets.

Unlike standard bets, futures odds can change throughout the season as things like injuries and trades can dramatically affect a team’s chances of winning a championship. This is why it is important to shop around for the best odds when placing a futures bet.

Another advantage of futures bets is that they are easy to understand and can be placed in a matter of seconds. They are usually displayed in American odds and can be spotted by the plus sign and minus sign, which indicate underdogs and favorites. It is not uncommon for long shot futures bets to pay off, like the 5000-1 futures bet on Leicester City that won the Premier League last year.